Male vs. female perspective in erotica

Image

One misconception about erotica is that it is 1) written for women and 2) written entirely from the female perspective. Well, I know plenty of men who enjoy smut. In fact, my best friend in high school was a boy, and we swapped erotic books back and forth (in paper bags. We were weird). But, data show that erotica have an overwhelmingly female readership. That doesn’t mean all erotica has to be written from a female perspective, though!

My newest BDSM/femdom story, Extra Credit, is the first story I’ve written from a straight male perspective. I have written plenty about gay males and lesbians, so I’m no virgin to being in a man’s head or direction a character’s advances toward a female body. But this is foreign territory to me. I suppose it’s because I know what it’s like to lust after a man, and I know what it’s like to be a female attracted to a female. I have no idea what it’s like to be a straight man. And in theory, neither do female readers. But my story (and many other stories) still sell.

Why?

I’ll admit the psychologist in me is dying to do a study on this, but for now, here’s my hypothesis: being inside a straight man’s head, feeling what he feels, and knowing what is happening to his body is hot. It’s not possible in real life when I’m having sex with my straight male partner. However, reading and writing about it allows me a glimpse “behind the scenes,” so to speak. I remember one evening when Humphrey and I were having drinks with friends, and we all ended up playing Truth or Dare. One of my friends asked him what his favorite sexual encounter was, and his answer (me, a hotel room, pasties and duct tape) stands out in my mind. I had no idea that of all our little encounters, THAT was his favorite. And it’s something I reflect on every now and then. I love when he shares little things like that with me.

And of course, there’s always something sexy about anything that is unknown! Obviously female perspective in erotica and romance is a smarter move marketing-wise, but male perspective can work if it is written well, contrary to popular belief.

Before I sign off today, let me pimp out my twitter handle @SageLMorgan. This girl needs some frans!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

